Briere's blatant offside goal ruling question
View Single Post
04-12-2012, 01:51 AM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Originally Posted by
So I was watching the Flyers-Penguins and Briere scored a goal while he was about 2 feet offside.
My buddy told me that an offside goal was "non-reviewable", meaning that if a player scores a goal while going offisde, like Briere tonight, and it is called a goal on the ice, it cannot be reviewed.
Can somebody please explain what the NHL's logic is behind that? I racked my brain and couldn't think of anything.
You can't review everything. So it is cut down to important issues like goals. Even if an offside non-call results in a goal you have to draw a line somewhere or we'll have a bunch of those review sessions every game instead of the actual game. Anyway there were times when all calls were made by the refs on the ice, you know? and it worked.
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by Atas2000