Briere's blatant offside goal ruling question
View Single Post
04-12-2012, 10:36 AM
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA
Originally Posted by
It didn't. Not unless the definition of "nearby" has changed dramatically.
Basically, the problem was the same in both cases: the linesman was out of position. The only logical reason to cancel the icing call on that is to presume that Sullivan got to the puck first. He didn't. Thus, it was the wrong call--perhaps not a "non-call" like the offside, but both are equally wrong.
I honestly can't tell from that angle if it is touched first by Philly. Philly gets back first but does he ever actually touch the puck? I can't really see. After the hit the puck is just sitting there like no one has touched it yet.
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by brett9897