View Single Post
05-13-2012, 12:21 AM
Frank the Tank
Passing the Torch
Frank the Tank's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,641
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by MillarWithASave View Post
I didn't know that.. dang, thats pretty interesting.. I would have assumed a 6-7th seed has won it, I knew that an 8th seed has never..

OT: Maybe a more challenging question, how many times has an 8th seed team gone to the SCF and the WCF and ECF?
Since the current format was adopted in 1994, the only 8th seed to appear in a Western conference (before LA this year) and Stanley Cup Finals is the Edmonton Oilers in 2006. Montreal appeared in the ECF in 2010. Numerous 7th seeds have made the Stanley Cup Finals and none have won the Stanley Cup:
  • 1994 - Vancouver
  • 1999 - Buffalo
  • 2003 - Anaheim
  • 2010 - Philadelphia

Last edited by Frank the Tank: 05-13-2012 at 12:49 AM. Reason: forgot Montreal in 2010
Frank the Tank is offline   Reply With Quote