View Single Post
Old
05-14-2012, 09:35 PM
  #714
Propane Nightmares
The Resist Stance
 
Propane Nightmares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: England land
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 45,661
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by LetsGoBears View Post
Except his hand went directly on top of it. It is a penalty, and if you think otherwise you're wrong.
No, you are wrong.

Quote:
67.1 Handling Puck - A player shall be permitted to stop or “bat” a puck in the air with his open hand, or push it along the ice with his hand, and the play shall not be stopped unless, in the opinion of the Referee, he has deliberately directed the puck to a teammate in any zone other than the defending zone, in which case the play shall be stopped and a face-off conducted (see Rule 79 – Hand Pass). Play will not be stopped for any hand pass by players in their own defending zone.
67.2 Minor Penalty – Player - A player shall be permitted to catch the puck out of the air but must immediately place it or knock it down to the ice. If he catches it and skates with it, either to avoid a check or to gain a territorial advantage over his opponent, a minor penalty shall be assessed for “closing his hand on the puck”.
A minor penalty shall be imposed on a player who, while play is in progress, picks up the puck off the ice with his hand.
Del Zotto didn't pick it up.

Propane Nightmares is offline