View Single Post
06-02-2012, 01:02 AM
Bring Back GLR
Commit to the Indian
Bring Back GLR's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Blackhawkville
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,202
vCash: 500
Best modern era Hawk team never to win a Cup

To me there's two- one would be the 1989-90 Hawk team, regular season points wise they were'nt great but they had like seven 20 goal scorers (Steve Thomas had 40 that year) and made it to the Conference Finals before being eliminated by the eventual Cup winners the Oilers. We should have used Belfour way more over Greg Millen who was brutal in the playoffs. The 90-91 team was much better statistically but completely crashed and burned in the first round.

Second would be the 1994-95 Hawks team that in addition to Roenick, Chelios, Belfour we also had Amonte, Nicholls, Suter, Joe Murphy and a rejuvenated Denis Savard. We finally had a proper second line and it was a dream to watch the Power Play that year with Chelios and Suter QB'ing it. Great teams back then, but teams like the Oilers, and Red Wings were just too damn good for us.

One thing those teams had back then that was a Hawk staple was a tough gritty yet skilled Defence. Dave Manson, Doug Wilson, Chris Chelios, Gary Suter, Steve Smith etc. This is what we're in dire need of this Summer.

Last edited by Bring Back GLR: 06-02-2012 at 01:14 AM.
Bring Back GLR is offline   Reply With Quote