View Single Post
06-08-2012, 02:33 AM
Registered User
vancanucks16's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver
Country: Canada
Posts: 74
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by KaylaJ View Post
Unnoticed by officials, however, was the fact Norfolk had at least one player offside when the puck was shot in, which according to the AHL rulebook should have negated the goal:

“83.4 Disallowed Goal – If the puck is shot on goal during a delayed offside, the play shall be allowed to continue under the normal clearing-the-zone rules. Should the puck, as a result of this shot, enter the defending team’s goal, either directly or off the goalkeeper, a player or an official on the ice, the goal shall be disallowed as the original shot was off-side. The fact that the attacking team may have cleared the zone prior to the puck entering the goal has no bearing on this ruling.”

Per Mirtle's article. I'm still kinda confused.
It means that if the shot just gets saved then the play continues, but if it results in a goal then it shall be disallowed. So yes it was an illegal goal but there is nothing that can be done now.

Originally Posted by VinnyC View Post
At :15 you can see that all Admirals players had cleared the zone before the puck went into the net so it was a legal goal.
But he shot it before they cleared the zone, that is what the rule states.

Last edited by vancanucks16: 06-08-2012 at 02:38 AM.
vancanucks16 is offline   Reply With Quote