View Single Post
08-25-2012, 08:51 PM
Registered User
octopi's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31,549
vCash: 844
Originally Posted by Epsilon View Post
Amusing article here where the author goes down the list of finishers at each TdF Armstrong won and tries to find the "winner" in the case that everyone who has been tied to doping is removed:

Some pretty hilarious results occur:

1999: Fernando Escartin (3rd place)
2000: Fernando Escartin (8th place)
2001: Andrei Kivilev (4th place)
2002: Carlos Sastre (10th place)
2003: Carlos Sastre (9th place)
2004: Georg Totschnig (7th place)
2005: Cadel Evans (8th place)

Average finish of the highest-placing "clean" (i.e. non-implicated) rider: 7th place

This does a good job of showing why awarding any stripped titles to other riders would be a total fool's errand. Doing it within a short time period after the race ended (such as in 2006 with Floyd Landis and Oscar Pierero) is one thing, but re-writing the results years afterwards is pointless.
Whatever, aren't all Pen state's wins being stripped thnks to the Sandusky fiasco?

octopi is offline   Reply With Quote