View Single Post
Old
05-09-2006, 03:04 PM
  #14
Istvan
Registered User
 
Istvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,306
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teufelsdreck
Istvan, the two referees (Larue and Marouelli) weren't assigned to further games after missing the call. Suppose they had called it. Williams would have received 4 minutes in penalties. If the Hurricanes didn't score on that power play, the series would have proceeded the same way, with the Hurricanes winning in 6 games. Losing Koivu was what devastated the Habs, not the lost power play opportunity.
I'm not wanting to get into the coulda-woulda stuff here. I'm just wondering if refs can "choke" on a call. See the infraction, register it at some level above the cervical cord but fail to make that last synaptic connection which results in blowing the whistle with arm raised. I'm not suggesting conspiraqcy or malice or even incompetence. I'm wondering about a psychological glich. So the ref ends up saying "I saw the infraction but I can't tell you why I didn't blow the whistle."

[OK NETRO, i'm ready to move on now.]

Istvan is offline