View Single Post
Old
10-05-2012, 09:38 PM
  #315
AV18
Registered User
 
AV18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,647
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to AV18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beechsack View Post
A fly ball that can be caught by an infielder is an infield fly, regardless of where the ball lands.

The SS waved off Holiday and set under the ball, albiet in an incorrect position. The umpire is going to see that and call the infield fly every time.
Not quite. It has to be in a place that the infielder can reach with "ordinary effort," on a play ordinarily handled by that position. The easiest play on that ball should have been by the left fielder. Regardless, the umpire is supposed to call infield fly immediately.

AV18 is offline   Reply With Quote