View Single Post
10-16-2012, 09:12 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,134
vCash: 500
If the NHL was smart, which they are not for the fact that they are expanding now and not contracting, these would be the divisions:

West: Seattle(Phoenix), LA, Anahiem, San Jose, Vancouver, Edmonton, Calgary, Colorado
MidWest: Detroit, Toronto #2, Dallas, Minnesota, Winnepeg, Chicago, St Louis, Columbus
Northeast: Montreal, Quebec, Toronto Leafs, Ottawa, Buffalo, Boston, NY Rangers, NY Islanders
East: New Jersey, Philly, Pittsburgh, Washington, Tampa Bay, Florida, Carolina, Nashville

These divisions work time zone wise. The two Toronto teams are in different divisions to allow the new franchise to grow and separate itself from the Leafs. The current Atlantic division is split for overall league prosperity. It makes no sense to put the Rangers, Flyers, Penguins, and now Washington into one division. Those four franchises are among the most profitable and have good fan bases, though that hasn't always been the case with Pittsburgh and Washington. It makes sense geographically keeping all the "southern teams" together and playoff wise. Under the current proposal, only one of those teams (rangers, caps, pens, flyers) could make the semifinals. Now two can. Plus you have an original six feel to the Northeast division. Philly would not like losing the New York rivalries but they have one of the largest fan followings in the US and should take one for the good of the league and help out the Southern franchises.

Last edited by Psuhockey; 10-16-2012 at 09:22 AM..
Psuhockey is offline