View Single Post
11-07-2012, 09:23 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5,576
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by QuietCompany View Post
Andrechyuk, Blake, Brind'Amour, Chelios, Fleury, Guerin, Housley, Kariya, LeClair, Lindros, Naslund, Niedermayer, Roberts, Roenick, Shanahan, and Tkachuk should be inducted. **** the 4 player max rule, Cooney Weiland is in the HOF, he had one good season so you can't say that those guys above don't deserve it, all had great seasons and were game's stars in the 90s and early 00s.
Over the course of his career, Cooney Weiland was sixth in league scoring. By comparison, Guy Lafleur was 4th during his career.

During his career, Weiland scored in the same range as guys like Howie Morenz, Marty Barry, Hooley Smith, Herbie Lewis, and Aurele Joliat. He was legitimately one of the best of his era.

A lot of the guys you mentioned above... shouldn't be mentioned. Brind'Amour, Roberts, and Guerin are automatic nos. They were first-line players for part of their career. They were never star players. Andreychuk probably belongs with that group a well, despite his goal total. He only posted those numbers due to career length. Kariya just missed the 1000 point mark due to injuries, but Bure proved last year that it's not necessary if you were truly a great player in the 90s. Which Kariya was. Lindros also should follow for that reason. Shanahan, Tkachuk, and Leclair all dominated the LW during their careers (with much better overall game than Andreychuk's) and should get in. Chelios is a no-brainer inductee. Blake and Niedermayer have both won the Norris, and IIRC no defenseman has ever been named the best at his position and not been named to the Hall. Housley is a more borderline case, because while he had a couple of very good years, he wasn't among the league' elite defensemen during a period which we will see/have seen the following HHOFers: Bourque, Coffey, Stevens, MacInnis, Leetch, Chelios, Howe, Lidstrom, Blake, Niedermayer, Pronger. But it's hard to make the argument that you belong in the Hall if there are at least 11 guys above you in the pecking order from your era. Fleury and Roenick were absolutely elite forwards in their prime, as was Naslund in his.

To summarize:
IN: Fleury, Kariya, LeClair, Lindros, Naslund, Roenick, Shanahan, Tkachuk, Chelios, Niedermayer
OUT: Andreychuk, Brind'Amour, Roberts, Guerin, Housley

Finally, induct Sergei Makarov already. Konstantinov, with his unfortunately short NHL career but tacking on his international resume, also may qualify.

pdd is offline   Reply With Quote