View Single Post
11-11-2012, 01:28 PM
Mod Supervisor
How's the thesis?
DaveG's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Durham NC
Country: United States
Posts: 33,978
vCash: 562
Originally Posted by eva unit zero View Post
What period was this? The "1993-94 but we're not counting the Western Conference because that's where Fedorov, Gilmour, and Yzerman are" period? Still doesn't work; Ron Francis is around. Damn that Ron Francis, always screwing things up.

The only possible argument is the 2005-06 season, when Brind'Amour scored a surprising 70 points and was gifted the Selke over the more deserving Jere Lehtinen and John Madden, who had 33-19-52 and 16-20-36. Mike Fisher, a finalist with Brind'Amour and Lehtinen, posted 22-22-44 in 68 GP. But really, the best two-way forwards in hockey that season were Henrik Zetterberg (9th Selke, 68 points in 63 games) and Marian Hossa (100 points, 14th Selke). IMO, Rod largely won the Selke on reputation; many voters felt he "deserved" to have won it by that point in his career. I feel the same about Scott Niedermayer's sudden rise to Norris prominence. Niedermayer was never once the best defenseman in the league, yet he has a Norris. He finished ahead of Pronger in 2007 Norris voting, when Pronger is the guy who deserved the Norris. It's like there's this legend built around him that you're not allowed to object to; almost Gretzky-esque.
Basically the first two years post lockout. I can see an argument for the 06-07 Selke with Phalsson, but to say 05-06 wasn't deserving... sorry, you just don't win an award by 400 points when you're not deserving of it. Those two years, and especially 05-06, he was the best two-way forward in hockey.

DaveG is offline   Reply With Quote