View Single Post
11-12-2012, 06:43 AM
quoipourquoi's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hockeytown, MI
Country: United States
Posts: 2,887
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by Corto View Post
I think the Ted Lindsay award should be better recognized, but.... Isn't.

Perfect example?
2005-06, Jagr won the Lester after leading a crappy Rangers team to the playoffs, setting team records and being dominant.
People predicted NYR that year to finish dead last, remember.

Hart was won by Joe Thornton on a stacked SJ team, after he edged out Jagr by a couple of points in the last few games.

Not to take anything from Joe, he was fantastic, and it wasn't "undeserved", just that Jagr (IMO clearly) was the best player in the league that year, and certainly the Most Vaulable.


Bottom line...
It's a shame Hart gets more recognition than Ted Lindsay.

Because, surprisingly, more often than not, the winners are different.
That's a perfect example of why the Ted Lindsay isn't as relevant as the Hart because it is voted on prior to the completion of all 82 games.

quoipourquoi is offline   Reply With Quote