Referees & Rules
View Single Post
11-23-2012, 03:22 PM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Originally Posted by
Nothing wrong with that at all as long as the major penalty was warranted. You did not provide enough information but if your guy two handed him in the ankle, or did anything that was "intent to injure" or that player was injured as a result of whatever he did, then yes, a Major penalty must be given . And if he was on a breakaway at the time then yes, he still gets a penalty shot along with that player getting a major.
If he was tripped, like any normal trip on a breakaway then the referee can't give both the minor and the shot, its either or.
This applys for every rulebook that I know of.
I have giving this once in my career. Player had a breakaway, player from behind crosschecks him hard about 5 feet from the net and the player flys into the post head first, injured. Not shot was released.
-Penalty Shot for player on breakaway (was replaced by another player since he was injured)
-Major Penalty for checking from behind into goal frame (or cross checking, I dont remember what i decided to call)
It was a simple trip. No malicious intent. This game also had 17 penalties called, where most of our normal games consist of 2-5 at the most.
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by v3rs3