View Single Post
11-27-2012, 03:05 AM
Tomas W
Registered User
Tomas W's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,198
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by Leaf Rocket View Post
It's nice to rooting for your prospect team but it's better to keep things in perspective. As for the Guldhjalmen, yea it's great that he won it but not necessarily does it mean he will adjust to the NHL standards.
2012 - Jakob Silfverberg, Brynäs IF
2011 - Magnus Johansson, Linköpings HC
2010 - Mats Zuccarello Aasen, Modo Hockey
2009 - Johan Davidsson, HV71
2008 - Tony Mårtensson, Linköpings HC
2007 - Fredrik Bremberg, Djurgårdens IF
2006 - Andreas Karlsson, HV71
2005 - Henrik Lundqvist, Frölunda HC
2004 - Magnus Kahnberg, Västra Frölunda HC
2003 - Niklas Andersson, Västra Frölunda HC
2002 - Ulf Söderström, Färjestads BK
2001 - Kristian Huselius, Västra Frölunda HC
2000 - Rikard Franzén, AIK

Those are the MVP for the last 10 years or so, only 3 has touched the NHL level, while one has proven to be consistent. That's none other than Lundqvist, Zuccarello is the other and no he wasn't as consistent. Huselius is the only one who has shown he can progressively increase his skill level however also sort of showed his unlucky injuries. Everyone else in that list...have done nothing. Only time will tell if he can adjust to it, I am rooting for the guy as I like him.

Also for the best wrister not in the NHL comment....yea no. I can name three easily that'll beat him out on the spot. Off the top of my head, Hall in the AHL atm, Tarasenko, and Yakupov in the KHL.
The Swedish Elite Leauge is not a junior/development leauge. Most people in that list were veterans when they won.

Tomas W is offline