View Single Post
12-04-2012, 12:07 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,072
vCash: 50
Originally Posted by Hockey Outsider View Post
- Also surprising that there are only 18 seasons from the 1980s (10 of which are Gretzky), compared to 48 from the 1990s, 24 from the 2000s and 8 from the 2010s (in three seasons). There are also two seasons from seventies, both Trottier's, but I assume your data only goes back to 1978 or so. It seems weighted really heavily on the 1990s and (on a per-season basis) the 2010s?
The reason for the difference between 90's and the rest of the decades must have something to do with procentage of ES minutes per game. Did the 90's have a lower amount of penalty minutes? If we count the even strength goals scored over a decade and divide it with power play goals, would the 90's have the lowest "power play factor"?

Also what would a ESG/ESTOI ranking look like?

EDIT: Also, who would have thought Selanne would be this high on the list in ESG average in three best seasons. I thought he was just a normal first line goal scorer.

Gretzky 62
Selanne 62
Hull 61
Esposito 61
Ovechkin 60
Bure 59
Jagr 57
LeClair 54
Iginla 54
Lemieux 51
Stamkos 51
Kurri 51
Lafleur 51
Kovalchuk 50
Lindros 49
Yzerman 49
Tkachuk 49
Bossy 48
Robitaille 45
Malkin 45
Dionne 44
Sakic 44
Sundin 44
Crosby 43
Fedorov 43

Hagged is offline   Reply With Quote