View Single Post
Old
12-07-2012, 02:25 PM
  #311
calcal798
Registered User
 
calcal798's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,508
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaive View Post
Thinking about adding some depth to the club.... What do people think of the following FA;

Ramon Ramirez (RP) http://espn.go.com/mlb/player/_/id/6503/ramon-ramirez
Carlos Zambrano (SP) http://espn.go.com/mlb/player/_/id/4499/carlos-zambrano
Jose Valverde (CP) http://espn.go.com/mlb/player/_/id/5504/jose-valverde (35 Saves)
Ben Sheets (RP) http://espn.go.com/mlb/player/_/id/4571/ben-sheets (35 Ks in 49.1 Inn)
Rafael Soriano - http://espn.go.com/mlb/player/_/id/4600/rafael-soriano (pricey but STILL)
Joe Saunders (SP) http://espn.go.com/mlb/player/_/id/6383/joe-saunders
Jason Marquis (SP) http://espn.go.com/mlb/player/_/id/4409/jason-marquis
Brandon McCarthy (SP) http://espn.go.com/mlb/player/_/id/6...andon-mccarthy (why aren't we in on this guy? did he get signed somewhere?!)

Casey Kotchman (1B) http://espn.go.com/mlb/player/_/id/5918/casey-kotchman (was once highly touted ... maybe he can find his way as a Jay?)
Carlos Lee (1B) http://espn.go.com/mlb/player/_/id/4000/carlos-lee
Ronny Cedeno (SS/2B) http://espn.go.com/mlb/player/_/id/6254/ronny-cedeno (cedeno at 2B... Reyes at SS..wow!)
Chad Durbin (RP) http://espn.go.com/mlb/player/_/id/4210/chad-durbin

Just a few guys that might be able to fill that #5/Swing man spot in our rotation or help bring some stability and depth to our bullpen. A couple of (mainly 1B) infielders that might make sense for depth, stop gap, platoons...

thoughts?
Pretty sure Ben Sheets is a starter and hes pretty injury prone too.

IMO it depends on how much these guys want, and what is available via trade. If guys like Marcum or Mccarthy dont demand a whole lot Id be interested (under 10 mil for 1 season) but otherwise Id rather see what we could get in a return through trade.

Dont really see AA spending big bucks on FA.

calcal798 is offline