View Single Post
12-11-2012, 11:09 PM
Global Moderator
TheDevilMadeMe's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brooklyn
Country: United States
Posts: 41,043
vCash: 500
Vezina Trophy Shares

Here are the top 10 goalies in Vezina Trophy shares since the trophy was first voted on in 1981-82:

times = times a player received at least 1 vote from a GM
share = sum of seasonal Vezina shares
Martin Brodeur155.4072
Dominik Hasek114.7591
Patrick Roy174.6216
Ed Belfour112.5044
Tom Barrasso71.9833
Grant Fuhr81.5901
Roberto Luongo71.5600
Tim Thomas31.5533
John Vanbiesbrouck91.5329
Henrik Lundqvist71.4933

Compare to Billy Smith:

Billy Smith30.6190

Smith didn't receive all-star consideration before 1982, so this isn't underrating his regular season awards portfolio.

I do think Smith was probably more impressive in the playoffs than Grant Fuhr, but by how much?

I had Smith exactly 1 spot ahead of Fuhr on my submitted list, but I'm probably going to have Fuhr in my top 4 this round and Smith in my 5-8 range.

(And yes, Dennis, Brodeur is ahead of Roy and Hasek because this metric is better at measuring longevity as an elite player than absolute peak )

TheDevilMadeMe is online now   Reply With Quote