Thread: WJC: New format next year
View Single Post
12-12-2012, 02:37 AM
Can't Hold Leads
saskriders's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Auckland
Country: New Zealand
Posts: 22,532
vCash: 750
New format next year

Next year, instead of the top 3 teams of each division advancing to the playoffs, with a bye for division winners, there will be the top 4 teams in each division advancing to quarter finals, with the two bottom teams having a best of 3 for avoiding relegation.

So if this was used last year it would probably look like this (not 100% sure about how playoff seeds would work, but can guess based off of WC)

QF1: Sweden-Switzerland
QF2: Finland-Czech Republic
QF3: Canada-US
QF4: Russia-Slovakia

Personally, I like this format. 8 teams in the playoffs means that all the big 7 teams make the playoffs. It also give the 2nd tier countries a playoff spot to fight over. More playoff games also means more chance of upsets. The only thing I would consider changing is maybe expanding to 12 or 14 teams.

Last edited by saskriders: 12-12-2012 at 02:42 AM.
saskriders is offline   Reply With Quote