View Single Post
12-17-2012, 05:11 AM
Bluebirds Boyo
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Country: Wales
Posts: 132
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by chasespace View Post
Individual league champions, CL finalists, and Europa finalists qualify for the following year's CL.
Problem is, that leaves quite a few mediocre games. As TheMoreYouKnow says, the 80s brought us a quarter-final of Kuusysi vs. Steaua Bucharest, and Uefa is far more diluted today than it was then, with the national membership ballooning to 54 these days.

Under your proposal, this season's Champions League would contain Lusitanos, Tre Penne, B36 Tórshavn, F91 Dudelange, Neftchi Baku, The New Saints, Skënderbeu Korçë, Željezničar, Slovan Liberec, Ludogorets Razgrad, Budućnost Podgorica, Shakhter Karagandy, KR, Sheriff Tiraspol and so on and on, but no Manchester United or Barcelona.

If people wanted to watch Ludogorets Razgrad vs. F91 Dudelange, the competition wouldn't have changed format in the first place. People can say Uefa only want money and not what the fans want, but in this instance at least, the two are one and the same.

Bluebirds Boyo is offline   Reply With Quote