View Single Post
12-21-2012, 09:05 AM
La Flame
Registered User
La Flame's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,768
vCash: 500

This man will no longer be 'running' a league.

Crazy news has been announced as the NHL has chosen to cease operations. "This lockout is too much" said Gary Bettman. "We have chosen to shut down the NHL". Fans everywhere are extremely angered. We would post some Tweets, but none would be appropriate. This news has shocked the whole sports world. Never has one of the major sports leagues just shut down out of the blue. All of the players in the NHL have been told they will receive their contract payments in full. Where will they play? KHL boss Alexander Medvedev has said he would take the now-unemployed players. "Yes, we will gladly accept them into our League" Medvedev said.

However, this next story will shock you even more. The owners of the Elitserien, Sm-Liiga, Czech Extraliga, Swiss League, and DEL have teamed up to form the Euro Hockey League. 11 Finnish, 3 Czech, 12 Swiss, 2 German, and 2 Swedish league teams have been announced as the league's 30 teams. These teams include 70 locked-out NHLers. The EHL has announced that "all NHLers currently on these teams will play in the EHL". This gives the league some star power, including the likes of Claude Giroux, Rick Nash, and Erik Karlsson.

This is incredibly shocking news. How one sports league can shut down then be replaced by an alternative one is mind boggling. If you thought this was all crazy, the team's rosters will be determined with a Fantasy Draft. This all adds up to the craziest story in probably hockey history.

Here is a full list of locked-out NHLers who will be playing in the EHL:

Jokerit: Erik Karlsson, Valteri Filppula
IFK: Stephane Robidas, Sean Bergenheim, Mathieu Perreault, Lennart Petrell
HPK: Antti Miettinen
Zurich: Dustin Brown
JYP: Rich Peverley, Lars Eller
KalPa: Derek Stepan, Craig Smith
Karpat: Jussi Jokinen, Kyle Turris, Jason Demers
Fribourg: David Deshairnais
Kloten: Brooks Laich
Tappara: Jannik Hansen, Kurtis Foster, Justin Braun
Davos: Joe Thornton, Rick Nash
Frolunda: Matt Duchene, Viktor Stalberg
MODO: Alex Steen, Kyle Cumiskey
Bern: John Tavares, Mark Streit, Roman Josi
Ambri-Piotta: Max Pacioretty, Cory Schneider
Hamburg: Jamie Benn
Berlin: Claude Giroux, Daniel Briere
Biel: Patrick Kane, Tyler Seguin, Marc-Antoine Pouliot
TPS: Mikko Koivu, Kevin Shattenkirk, Lauri Korpikoski, Kris Russell, Alec Martinez
Lukko: Frans Nielsen, Mikkel Boedker, Philip Larsen
Genete-Servette: Logan Couture, Yannick Weber
Pelicans: Antti Niemi, Jamie McBain
Lugano: Patrice Bergeron, Luca Sbisa
Rapperswill: Jason Spezza, Michael Del Zotto
Langnau: Tyler Ennis, Jared Spurgeon
Ilves: Maxime Talbot, Anders Lindback
Zug: Henrik Zetterberg, Raphael Diaz
Mountfield: Milan Michalek, Andrew Ference, Vaclav Prospal, Martin Hanzal
Kladno: Tomas Plekanec, Jaromir Jagr, Marek Zidlicky, Tomas Kaberle, Jiri Tlusty
Pardubice: David Krejci, Ales Hemsky, Jakub Kindl

For now, we will try and let this all sink in.

La Flame is offline