View Single Post
12-27-2012, 07:43 PM
ginner classic
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kitsilano
Posts: 8,704
vCash: 815
Originally Posted by Luck 6 View Post
Maybe if it was best offensive defenseman...then sure.

Ohlund was a far better D-man than anyone the Canucks have ever had. I am still surprised how few people get that. It should have been 80% for Ohlund in the first poll. I think people are spending too much time looking at stats and not enough watching the games.

"Over 11 seasons with the Canucks, Ohlund registered team records of 93 goals and 325 points as a defenceman. His 232 assists ranked fourth amonth all-time Canucks defencemen, while his 770 games played was second among defencemen and fifth overall"

As voted by the fans:

The Babe Pratt Trophy was first awarded for the 1972–73 season as the Premier's Trophy. After the death of Hall of Fame defenceman and Canucks goodwill ambassador Babe Pratt, the trophy was renamed in honour of him for the 1989–90 season. Originally, the trophy's recipient was decided by local media, but is now decided by fan vote.

The most prolific award winners in the trophy's history have been:
Mattias Ohlund - 4 times (1998, 2000, 2004, 2006)
Jyrki Lumme - 4 (1992, 1994, 1996, 1997)
Doug Lidster - 4 (1985, 1986, 1987, 1991)
Harold Snepsts - 4 (1978, 1979, 1980, 1982)
Ed Jovanovski - 3 (2001, 2002, 2003)

Other notables:
Over-Time Goals Regular Season (all players) - 4th
Playoff Points (D) - 2nd
Way higher PPG in playoffs than regular season

Last edited by ginner classic: 12-27-2012 at 07:56 PM.
ginner classic is online now   Reply With Quote