View Single Post
Old
12-28-2012, 02:29 PM
  #80
phillipsj89
Registered User
 
phillipsj89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 432
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by S E P H View Post
No, skating and then gliding close to full speed is a charge. In Europe and America that is a penalty.
It does appear you are right in the IIHF rule book and the NHL rule book. Just check, they reworded the "charging" penalty to read "shall mean the action of a player
who, as a result of distance travelled violently
checks an opponent. Charging may be the result
of a check into the boards, into the goal frame or
on open ice."

But as the penalty is known to most it is described as "a player not gliding ino a check, a well known rule of thumb is if the player takes more than 3 steps without gliding into the hit.

It seems like every single hit could be charging, i think they changed it for exactly this reason, to just be a catch-all for injuries.

phillipsj89 is offline