View Single Post
01-02-2013, 04:04 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 197
vCash: 500
The Real Season
The Edmonton Oilers have finally returned to the post-season, with a joint effort by the tandem of Devan Dubnyk and Atte Engren.

Record: 49 W - 26 L - 7 OTL - 105 PTS
Goals for: 225
Goals against: 203
Playoffs: Defeated in the 1st round by Vancouver Canucks

Starting Lineup
Taylor Hall [A] - Ryan Nugent-Hopkins - Jordan Eberle
Magnus Paajarvi - Sam Gagner - Nail Yakupov
Curtis Glencross - Shawn Horcoff [C] - Ryan Jones
Teemu Hartikainen - Chris Kelly - Dominic Moore

Ryan Whitney [A] - Jeff Petry
Nick Schultz - Justin Schultz
Ladislav Smid - Oscar Klefbom

Devan Dubnyk
Atte Engren

Free Agent Signings:
G Atte Engren
LW Curtis Glencross
C Chris Kelly
C Dominic Moore
D Mikko Kousa
LW Garrett Wilson
LW Charles Hudon
D Keegan Lowe
RW John Westin

In the middle of November, rugged defenceman Theo Peckham's rights and enigmatic sniper Nikita Filatov to the Devils, who were second only to the Penguins in the Atlantic division, were looking for NHL-ready players, and gave up their first round pick in the upcoming draft.

During the draft, Oilers captain Shawn Horcoff was traded in an unbelievable move. Albertan rival the Calgary Flames asked Tambellini for Horcoff, offering draft picks for the future. The move was considered bittersweet by fans, as they were able to move the aging Horcoff's expensive contract. There were rumours that the captain was being shopped by Tambellini during the season, but there were no biters. Fans are both elated and irritated that Horcoff will still be seen often.

2014 NHL Entry Draft
TWD Aaron Ekblad - 1st round (1) Exceptional Player is expected to step in sooner rather than later, plays in all situations and is a clutch skater.
PLY Manuel Knutsen - 1st round (21) German passer is slightly smaller at 5'10", 176lbs, but has above-average skating.

HYB Jackson Whistle - 2nd round (51) Playing for his hometown team, the Kelowna Rockets, Whistle's athleticism is his greatest strength, but will continue to work on stick play.
TWF Daniel Asham - 2nd round (52) Centreman has exceptional defensive abilities for his age, but his skating is average at best and could take advantage of his size more often.

PLY Austin Vetterl - 3rd round (75) 20-year old is a project, but has the potential to be a second-line playmaker.
TWF Jeremy Gregoire - 3rd round (81) Big centre is a fluid skater, but could use work elsewhere. Has the size to compete.

Stanley Cup: Buffalo Sabres
Calder Cup: Oklahoma City Barons
President's Trophy: Buffalo Sabres
Clarence S. Campbell Bowl: Calgary Flames
Prince of Wales Trophy: Buffalo Sabres
Art Ross Trophy: Sidney Crosby (PIT)
Hart Memorial Trophy: Alexander Ovechkin (WSH)
James Norris Memorial Trophy: Joni Pitkanen (CAR)
Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: Alexander Semin (CAR)
Calder Memorial Trophy: Mike Matheson (FLA)
Conn Smythe Trophy: Ryan Miller (BUF)
Vezina Trophy: Pekka Rinne (NSH)
William M. Jennings Trophy: Miika Kiprusoff/Leland Irving (CGY)
Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Mattias Ohlund (NYR)
Frank J. Selke Trophy: Pavel Datsyuk (DET)
Ted Lindsay Award: Pekka Rinne (NSH)
Maurice Richard Trophy: Alexander Ovechkin (WSH)

2013-2014 Summary
This was the year of surprises, for not only the Oilers but the rest of the NHL. Atte Engren has posted amazing numbers, going 16-5, with a 2.04 GAA and .928 SV%, as well as 4 shutouts.

With New Jersey's first rounder, which ended up as the first overall draft pick, Edmonton selected former Barrie Colts defender Aaron Ekblad. The 6'3", 214lbs, two-way defenceman is the second player to have been granted Exceptional Player status, following John Tavares and prior to Connor McDavid. Many had expected that Sam Reinhart's strong season with the Kootenay Ice had warranted him being selected number one, but the Oilers believed that Ekblad would be better for the Oilers in the long run.

While the Oilers couldn't make it past the first round, the Barons captured their second consecutive Calder Cup. The Sabres and Lindy Ruff finally vanquished the ghosts of 1999, winning the Stanley Cup. Joni Pitkanen is the first Finnish defenceman to win the Norris, and he did so back-to-back, the first player to do so since Lidstrom. Mike Matheson of the Panthers put up 14G-30A-44P and was a plus 5, the first defenceman to win the Calder since Myers did so in the 2009-2010 season. Pekka Rinne finally wins the Vezina, and takes the Ted Lindsay with him. Ovechkin and Datsyuk repeat their trophy wins.

FlyingSkate is offline