View Single Post
Old
01-05-2013, 12:18 AM
  #240
Alerion
Get the Can Opener
 
Alerion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Halifax, NS
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,090
vCash: 500
The slash was intentional, stupid play. I would have been okay with a one game suspension just because the end result could have been much worse and that's consistent with the IIHF's rulings thus far.

That being said, Trochek's head was obviously not Reinhart's target. The slash was delivered low and initially made contact with Trochek's stick before riding up and unfortunately making contact with Trochek's head. Go back and watch the slow-mo closely, it's pretty clear to see. Since Reinhart didn't deliver his stick toward Trochek's head, the IIHF's ruling of intentional contact to the head is bogus and so is their ridiculous 4 game suspension.

One last thing: Does Reinhart's reaction to the play seriously seem like the outcome was his intent?

Alerion is offline   Reply With Quote