View Single Post
01-17-2013, 08:56 PM
Registered User
Canadiens1958's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14,862
vCash: 500

Originally Posted by seventieslord View Post
Hall, Plante, and Cheevers' (mostly) resumes aren't at all dependent on whether they were difference makers in a lesser league though.
Comparable issue is how much of a difference maker was Al Rollins in the WHL?

In 1953 Glenn Hall lead the 4th place Edmonton Flyers to the WHL Championship, then in 1955 the Edmonton Flyers dominated the WHL with Glenn Hall finishing first and winning the WHL championship. Given that Hall replaced Rollins in Chicago at the start of the 1957-58 it puts WHL the definition of a "difference maker" by past or future NHL goalies in focus.

Gerry Cheevers led Rochester and Oklahoma City to respective league championships in 1965 and 1967.

Cheevers and Rollins are being debated this round.

Canadiens1958 is offline   Reply With Quote