View Single Post
Old
01-22-2013, 03:38 PM
  #135
fryer98
Registered User
 
fryer98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 124
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malreg View Post
Can a linesman override another linesman on an off-side call?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbhhofr View Post
The Linesman who is on the other side of the ice shouldn't make a habit of doing it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imaginary Threats View Post
There is nothing in the rules that says you can't, but you shouldn't do it.
This is always a tough situation and discussed with refs often. In the end, you want to have the CORRECT call be made on the ice.

I hate to say it but the situation of the game and my partner would be factors in this. Also, as stated, I wouldn't make a habit or doing it at all. If I was the back linesman in the situation above and I was 100% sure it was offsides, I would blow the play dead and make the correct call. If I was anything less than 100% sure on my call, I would let my partner's call stand.

On the other side of the situation, if I was the linesman making the call at my line and my partner blew it dead saying he was 100% sure on his call, I would be fine with him doing so. I know a lot of other refs that would not agree with me on that one though and would be upset someone discredited their call.

fryer98 is offline   Reply With Quote