Thread: Post-Game Talk: Oilers win 2-1: Overcoming Adversity.
View Single Post
01-25-2013, 10:20 AM
I rigged the lotto.
stratedge's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,509
vCash: 1336
Re: Smid's covering the puck penalty

The refs made the wrong call. It is not illegal to cover the puck with your hand under the new rule, it is only illegal if in doing so you are preventing the opponent from getting at it. The simple act of playing the puck forward, as Smid did, is not automatically illegal. The refs misinterpreted it:

Anytime a player places his hand over the puck while it is on the ice in order to conceal if from or prevent an opponent from playing the puck, a minor penalty shall be assessed for "closing his hand on the puck."

Add that to the giant pile of refereeing ****-ups last night.


To summarize, when no advantage over an opponent is gained the "catch and release" philosophy remains in effect and allows the play to continue.

stratedge is offline   Reply With Quote