View Single Post
Old
02-20-2013, 12:26 PM
  #288
Theokritos
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3,013
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burke the Legend View Post
Please, are we seriously gonna pretend Austria or Italy has a chance against teams full of NHL all stars just cuz they managed to scrape together more IIHF fairy points against other C-level teams? Germany has a team of NHLers and borderline NHLers of course they will put up a decent game against Canada/USA/Russia/Sweden while Austria will lose 12-0.
It doesn't matter. In soccer for example every nation has the chance to qualify for the world championship, no matter how small and unimportant: Andorra, Belize, Tuvalu... And that's the only way to go if (if...) you want Europeans to accept the tournament as a legit international competition.

BTW Italy defeated Germany and Austria held Germany to a draw after 60 minutes, so their "IIHF fairy points" were won in direct competition against Germany.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burke the Legend View Post
So what it can be an evening game is Russia will air at Matinee times in Canada?
Arithmetics. 14:00 in Vancouver = 17:00 in Toronto = 23:00 in Stockholm = 1:00 in Moscow. The game will have to air at forenoon and noon in Canada. I'm fine with that. But is the NHL?

Theokritos is offline