View Single Post
02-25-2013, 01:32 AM
Registered User
Sunking278's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Country: United States
Posts: 122
vCash: 500
Since the NHL seems hellbent on going with this model (which I don't like, btw), here's how they should do it:

CONF A - Boston, Montreal, NY Rangers, Ottawa, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Toronto, Washington (Wash moves to Conf B if Quebec City joins league as expansion franchise)

CONF B - Buffalo, Carolina, Columbus, Florida, New Jersey, NY Islanders, Tampa Bay

CONF C - Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Detroit, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis

CONF D - Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Jose, Vancouver, Winnipeg (Phoenix moves to Conf C if Seattle joins league as expansion franchise, and assuming the Phoenix franchise itself doesn't end up in Seattle)

All the Canadian teams are divided between two of the conferences, and the Eastern time zones teams are divided, roughly speaking, by small markets and the big markets. And I know someone is reading this thinking, 'you can't separate the Rangers from the Islanders and Devils, they won't be rivals anymore.' Hogwash, they'll still be rivals, it really doesn't matter if they're aligned together, particularly consideirng they are too many damn franchises in just that small slither of the country. Hardly comparable to the Kings and Ducks, or Oilers and Flames. Again, let the smaller market Eastern teams have their own playground, and let the franchises in the Original Six and other big hockey markets have their battles. The NHL will be better off in every way for it.

Sunking278 is offline