View Single Post
02-28-2013, 04:18 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary, AB
Country: Canada
Posts: 14,700
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by Pucknut50 View Post
The hit on Cleary was clean. The Datsyuk penalty not so much. See below new rule on Faceoffs. Datsyuk had both hands on his stick he never made a batting gesture to win the faceoff. He did pull back with his stick and it did hit his glove but no batting of glove. So by rule it should not have been a penalty.

"Both players facing-off are prohibited from batting the puck with their hand in an attempt to win the face-off. Any attempt by either center to win the face-off by batting the puck with their hand shall result in a minor penalty. This penalty shall be announced as a "Minor Penalty for Delay of Game - Face-off Violation." Once the face-off is deemed complete (and winner of the face-off is clear), hand passes shall be enforced as per Rule 79"
As dumb as the rule is I think that the Datsyuk call was correct. No where does it say that your hand has to be oof of the stick to bat the puck. I see your argument, but just think it could go either way and not definateive that it should not be called.

YP44 is offline   Reply With Quote