View Single Post
03-14-2013, 01:42 PM
Registered User
truebluegoalie's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,639
vCash: 500
I hadn't been following this realignment much, I knew I didn't like what I had read but I thought I would wait till it was finalized to really take a look at it. I have to admit, I am not a fan. I don't like the idea of the wild card or the top three teams from the division making it. They say five teams could make the playoffs, maybe that is good considering the Rangers are in one of the tougher divisions. The really funny thing is that if you look at the link I provided there is a video and a picture of the new alignment. It all makes sense geographically, except for the Florida teams. lol For others who haven't been following it like myself here is the breakdown from the NHL website|NHL|home:

The top three teams in each division will make-up the first 12 teams in the playoffs. The remaining four spots will be filled by the next two highest-placed finishers in each conference, based on regular-season points and regardless of division. It will be possible, then, for one division to send five teams to the postseason while the other sends three.

The seeding of the wild-card teams within each divisional playoff will be determined on the basis of regular-season points. The division winner with the most points in the conference will be matched against the wild-card team with the lowest number of points; the division winner with the second-most points in the conference will play the wild-card team with the second fewest points.

The teams finishing second and third in each division will play in the first round of the playoffs. The winners of each series will play for berths in the Conference Championship series.

The two divisional champions in each conference will then play in the conference finals to advance to the Stanley Cup Final.

The divisions will be temporarily referred to as Division A, Division B, Division C and Division D. Permanent names will be assigned later.

The Western Conference will house Division A and Division B, while Division C and D will consist of eight teams each and make up the Eastern Conference.

Division A is the Anaheim Ducks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, Los Angeles Kings, Phoenix Coyotes, San Jose Sharks and Vancouver Canucks.

Division B features the Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Dallas Stars, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators, St. Louis Blues and Winnipeg Jets.

Division C has four Original Six franchises: Boston Bruins, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadiens and Toronto Maple Leafs. The Buffalo Sabres, Florida Panthers, Ottawa Senators and Tampa Bay Lightning are also in the division.

The Columbus Blue Jackets, Carolina Hurricanes and Washington Capitals will join the New Jersey Devils, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Philadelphia Flyers and Pittsburgh Penguins in Division D.

The new alignment ensures that all 30 teams play in all 30 arenas at least once per season.

The National Hockey League Players' Association has given its consent to play under the new Alignment and Playoff System for a minimum of three seasons, through the 2015-16 NHL season.

Originally Posted by silverfish View Post

Color me confused.

I am glad I am not the only one confused about the playoff setup. Maybe once we see it play out next year it will make more sense.

Last edited by truebluegoalie: 03-14-2013 at 01:53 PM.
truebluegoalie is offline