View Single Post
03-18-2013, 10:50 AM
We See Red
KittysGotClaws's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N of BB&T
Country: United States
Posts: 2,139
vCash: 500
I thought the 35+ rule meant we still pay him even if he retires? I remember when he signed the contract, a few people said he'll probably play a couple of years and then retire, which wouldn't matter anyway because we don't spend to the cap.

" Players who sign multi-year contracts when they are age 35 or older (calculated on June 30 of the season the contract begins) count toward the cap under all circumstances, regardless of where (or if) the player is playing. The only cap relief is $100,000 from the player's cap hit if he is assigned to the minors after the first year of the contract. A buyout — either ordinary-course or compliance — can also reduce the cap hit."

Or does the cap hit still count without actual payment?

KittysGotClaws is offline   Reply With Quote