View Single Post
Old
03-21-2013, 07:23 PM
  #13
tsanuri
Moderator
 
tsanuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Grants Pass OR
Country: United States
Posts: 6,255
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron View Post
That was the correct call by the refs, I am going to have to disagree with you Tony. He didn't have possession. He just chipped it, and referees aren't (usually) going to whistle a play dead if its just tipped or chipped by a player.
It's really one of those gray areas. Most teams that are on the delayed penalty probably don't want that blown dead. But it is that old question of what is control? Since a player doing that not a goalie would be control. And was he just blocking the puck anyway, or did he send the puck to exactly where he was trying? And one could argue that the first would not be control and the second could be. Of course if he was asked that was exactly where he wanted the puck to go.

tsanuri is offline   Reply With Quote