View Single Post
Old
05-17-2013, 01:43 PM
  #168
Replacement
Now with 9% more zen
 
Replacement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hockey Hell
Country: Canada
Posts: 36,526
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarus View Post
No player ever intends to throw the puck out of play since they put the rule in, which is the whole point.

You can either deal with the occasional blown call, remove the penalty and watch teams again start using audience members as target practice every time they are up by one goal, or redefine it full of vague and subjective language that further puts the game into the hands of the referees.
The original ruling was in response to Obvious intent delay of game.

Ask yourself how this call was made in response to obvious and clear intent. The player was being intefered with, his stick was being interfered with, and the puck barely cleared he boards.

How could the ref ascertain from this that the player intended to delay the game. How could you?

It wasn't intended, it was inadvertent due to the player being interfered with that arguably impacted the bang off the glass which was more likely intended.

Replacement is offline