View Single Post
08-08-2013, 07:30 PM
quoipourquoi's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hockeytown, MI
Country: United States
Posts: 4,315
vCash: 500
The Sporting News Player Polls

Originally Posted by 1979
Minnesota North Star centre Bobby Smith was selected rookie of the year yesterday in a poll of National Hockey League players published by The Sporting News. Smith previously was chosen NHL rookie of the year by The Hockey News.

The 21-year-old Ottawa native received 117 votes in The Sporting News survey, easily topping Washington's Ryan Walter, who had 78 votes. Wayne Babych of St. Louis finished third with 60.

Meanwhile, Montreal Canadiens and New York Islanders made a clean sweep of The Sporting News NHL all-star team. In a vote of 270 players, centre Bryan Trottier, left winger Clark Gillies and defenceman Denis Potvin of the Islanders and right winger Guy Lafleur, defenceman Larry Robinson and goalie Ken Dryden of the Canadiens were chosen as the league's best players.
Originally Posted by 1980
Los Angeles Kings centre Marcel Dionne has been selected 1979-80 National Hockey League player of the year in a poll conducted by The Sporting News. Dionne, who scored 53 goals for the Kings, received 128 of 348 votes cast by NHL players in the annual poll by the weekly publication announced yesterday. He edged Wayne Gretzky of the Edmonton Oilers by one vote.

Ray Bourque of Boston Bruins was voted the league's top rookie. Bourque set a record for points (65) by a rookie defenceman with 17 goals and 48 assists.
Originally Posted by 1983
Wayne Gretzky of Edmonton Oilers was the overwhelming choice by National Hockey League players as the player of the year in balloting conducted by The Sporting News.

Gretzky received the votes of 176 players in the results announced yesterday. Boston Bruin goalie Pete Peeters was second with 116 votes. It is the third consecutive year players voted Gretzky the NHL's top star.

Right winger Steve Larmer of Chicago Black Hawks was chosen rookie of the year.

Gretzky, 22, had 196 points, with 71 goals and 125 assists, to win his third consecutive scoring title this season. His assist total is an NHL record.

The weekly sports periodical polled 326 NHL players.
Originally Posted by 1984
Edmonton Oiler Wayne Gretzky has been selected the 1983-84 National Hockey League player of the year in a poll of NHL players conducted by The Sporting News. The Oiler centre received the honor for a record fourth consecutive year. Gretzky was chosen on 250 of a 313 ballots cast.

Centre Steve Yzerman, first-round draft choice of Detroit Red Wings last June, was chosen rookie of the year. His 39 goals and 87 points set Detroit standards for a first-year player.

Gretzky demonstrated his importance to the Oilers in a season that saw Edmonton win the Stanley Cup for the first time. He finished the season with 87 goals and 118 assists to lead the NHL in scoring for the fourth year in a row. He was held without a point in only three games.

Gretzky heads the publication's all-star team as well. Boston's Rick Middleton was chosen the all-star right winger, Michel Goulet of Quebec Nordiques was selected at left wing, the Bruins' Ray Bourque and Washington Capital Rod Langway were chosen as defencemen. Pat Riggin of Washington was selected the team's goaltender.
Originally Posted by 1998
Buffalo Sabres goalie Dominik Hasek is The Sporting News player of the year in the NHL for the second year in a row. In a poll of players, Hasek received 98 votes, followed by Anaheim's Teemu Selanne (69) and Pittsburgh's Jaromir Jagr (25). The weekly publication also chose Boston's Pat Burns as coach of the year and Bruins right-winger Sergei Samsonov as rookie of the year. Pittsburgh's Craig Patrick was selected executive of the year.
Originally Posted by 2002
Jarome Iginla, a finalist for the Hart Trophy as the NHL's Most Valuable Player, on Tuesday was named Player of the Year by The Sporting News in a landslide vote. Iginla received 101 votes to become the first Calgary player to earn the Sporting News Player of the Year award.

Goaltender Patrick Roy and center Joe Sakic of the Colorado Avalanche finished second and third with 22 and 17 votes, respectively, in balloting among NHL players.

The 24-year-old Iginla scored a league-leading 52 goals and added 44 assists to top all players with 96 points.

Atlanta Thrashers right wing Dany Heatley edged out teammate Ilya Kovalchuk for the Sporting News Rookie of the Year honor. The 21-year-old Heatley had 26 goals and 41 assists.

Brian Sutter and Mike Smith of the Chicago Blackhawks were honored as the Coach and Executive of the Year, respectively, after the club went from 29-40-8 to 41-27-13 and a playoff spot. It had been 56 years since The Sporting News' voters nominated a Blackhawk for either category, the last being coaching honors for Johnny Gottselig in 1945-46.

In a close vote by NHL coaches, Sutter edged out Bobby Francis of Phoenix and Robbie Ftorek of Boston.

quoipourquoi is online now   Reply With Quote