View Single Post
09-05-2013, 11:59 PM
Global Moderator
tarheelhockey's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Triangle
Country: United States
Posts: 36,041
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by Cawz View Post
I noticed you conveniently (?) posted only half of the memo in a quoted post earlier, but here is the whole memo from the link in your post:
I noticed you conveniently (?) didn't acknowledge the rest of that post where I explained the correct application of the rule in step-by-step detail.

To make it as simple as possible, go to 0:43 of the video quoted in that post. Hull and the puck are both outside the crease. Hull kicks the puck to his stick -- at that point he re-establishes possession of the puck. From that point forward, he is allowed to do a pirouette inside the crease if he wishes, even if he is dangling the puck outside the crease. The offside rule rationale applies from the moment Hull kicks the puck to his stick.

This is per a specific explanation that the league clarified mid-season in a memo that the Sabres quietly confirmed they did receive, after denying it initially.

The rule, as plainly interpreted in that memo, states that a goal such as this one is good.

tarheelhockey is offline   Reply With Quote