View Single Post
Old
09-06-2013, 08:51 AM
  #42
tarheelhockey
Global Moderator
 
tarheelhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Triangle
Country: United States
Posts: 37,495
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogaine View Post
You guys arent looking at the replay . Hull does not have 'control' of the puck . It comes out, gets inadvertantly knocked to his skate that was already in the crease, which is illegal.

Here was the memo sent to everyone

Attacking player takes a shot on net and after doing so, skates into the crease. The initial shot deflects outside the crease. The original player, still in the crease, recovers the puck, which is now outside the crease, and scores. Result: Goal is disallowed. The player did not maintain control of the puck."
1) The kick wasn't "inadvertent", it was a clear act of kicking the puck directly to his stick for a shot. We are talking about Brett Hull here, not some mite player. He did it on purpose.

2) That's not the relevant part of the memo.


I apologize for the crummy resolution on the images below, but hopefully this will help explain the ruling.


This is an image of Hull with his skates completely outside the crease. As you can see in the red circle, the puck is loose in front of him. There's a technical argument that he is already in possession of the puck at this point, but we don't need to go there. Let's just say it's anybody's puck.





This is the critical moment that many people seem to forget: Hull takes possession of the puck OUTSIDE the crease. In this frame, he is halfway through his kick that moves the puck up to his stick blade. Again, as you can clearly see, the puck and both skates are still completely outside the crease. And Hull now has possession of the puck...






This is the final, infamous still shot that people remember most clearly. In isolation it appears that Hull is picking up a loose puck while in the crease -- but that's NOT what happens here. The puck is in transit to his stick blade, as a result of the kick where he took possession. During that instant, Hull swiveled his skates to get into shooting position.





Now, look at the relevant portion of the memo that the Sabres acknowledged they received in March:

Quote:
-"An attacking player maintains control of the puck but skates into the crease before the puck enters the crease and shoots the puck into the net. Result: Goal is allowed. The offside-rule rationale applies." (A player actually controlling the puck who crosses the line ahead of the puck is not considered off-side.)
For those not completely familiar with the offside rule:

Quote:
a player actually controlling the puck who shall cross the line ahead of the puck shall not be considered “off-side,” provided he had possession and control of the puck prior to his skates crossing the blue line.

To summarize:

1) Hull had possession of the puck with both skates outside the crease.
2) While in possession of the puck, he turned so that one skate entered the crease.
3) The NHL specifically ruled in MARCH of that year that situations exactly like this one should be ruled good goals.

Therefore, the goal is legal.

tarheelhockey is offline   Reply With Quote