View Single Post
09-06-2013, 07:18 PM
Steve Kournianos
Steve Kournianos's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Country: United States
Posts: 18,515
vCash: 500
Andre Dawson won it in 1987 on a **** team. Mike Schmidt won it in 1986 on a **** team. A-Rod won it in Texas on a **** team.

Pujols in 2008 won it without making the playoffs. Howard won it in 2006 without the playoffs. Cal Ripken won it in 1991 on a 67-95 team.

The only time playoffs really come into play is if the winner is so clear cut or a playoff team has split votes (like the 1980s Mets and 2000s Yanks)

Steve Kournianos is offline