View Single Post
01-07-2007, 11:46 PM
Registered User
Hockeyfan02's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Pistivity
Country: United States
Posts: 14,168
vCash: 500
The rulebook states it can't hit any part of the opposing player's equipment except for the blade of his stick and be called a good goal. I couldn't figure out if Recchi had kicked the puck before it hit Sarich's skate. If Recchi kicked the puck and it hit off Sarich's skate then it shouldn't have counted. If they determined Recchi did not kick the puck then they made the right call in overruling the decision(I have a feeling this is what they ruled). If they called it a good goal because it hit off Sarich's skate then they made the wrong call. An explanation of why goals are allowed/disallowed would be nice, considering this is done in the NFL after reviews I can't see why they don't explain their reasons. It would make things a lot easier.

# A kicked puck that deflects off the body of any player of either team (including the goalkeeper) shall be ruled NO GOAL.

# A kicked puck that deflects off ANY stick (excluding the goalkeeper's stick) shall be ruled a GOOD GOAL. After the puck has been kicked, makes contact with any stick and then deflects off any player (excluding the goalkeeper) and into the net will still be ruled a GOOD GOAL.

Hockeyfan02 is offline