Briere second goal: Kick or not?
View Single Post
01-22-2007, 01:43 AM
Join Date: Nov 2005
Originally Posted by
You're right about that. I just looked this up. Here's Rule 70a from the NHL Rulebook:
Kicking the puck shall be permitted in all zones. A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net. A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who kicks a puck that deflects into the net off any player, goalkeeper or Official.
1. A kicked puck that deflects off the body of any player of either team (including the goalkeeper) shall be ruled NO GOAL.
2. A kicked puck that deflects off ANY stick (excluding the goalkeeper's stick) shall be ruled a GOOD GOAL. After the puck has been kicked, makes contact with any stick and then deflects off any player (excluding the goalkeeper) and into the net will still be ruled a GOOD GOAL.
3. The player who kicks the puck and has the puck deflect off his OWN stick and then into the net, this will be ruled a GOOD GOAL.
So it's not a goal if it deflects off a body but it IS a goal if it deflects off any stick but the goalie's.
But you are allowed to direct the puck with your skate. What you arent allowed is a distinct kicking motion.
View Public Profile
Visit znk's homepage!
Find More Posts by znk