View Single Post
03-06-2007, 02:34 PM
Blind Gardien
Global Moderator
nexus of the crisis
Blind Gardien's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Four Winds Bar
Country: France
Posts: 19,841
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by RedScull View Post
The NHL nominates 4 players to the ballot prior to voting, and the winner is announced at the awards ceremony. Rory Fitzpatrick is not eligible to win the Norris, unfortunately.

This article outlines the voting process and last season's nominees:
Hmmm... I was about to say "Thanks, I guess they changed it"... but then I read the article, and it seemed to back up what I said? PHWA votes, the top-3 vote getters are anointed as "finalists", the #1 gets revealed in the awards show?

Anyway, you made me look, and while I didn't find a complete breakdown of the voting lists (used to be it was published every year in the NHL Guide and Record book, I'm not carrying mine at the moment), I did see articles noting for example that Legace and Luongo were 5th and 7th for the Vezina last year, that Schneider was 6th for the Norris, Yzerman 7th for the Lady Byng, etc. So my confidence that the same ol' same ol' open vote method still exists is renewed. And if Schneider could be 6th for the Norris last year, then I think Souray ought to be at least 6th this year.

EDIT: Lookee here...

Last edited by Blind Gardien: 03-06-2007 at 02:39 PM.
Blind Gardien is offline   Reply With Quote