View Single Post
Old
02-14-2004, 04:58 PM
  #76
stanley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,588
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by go kim johnsson
how did the rangers get a power play if purinton would have had a major for 3rd man in?
I'm pretty sure a major penalty doesn't need to be called. A third man in can be handled nothing more than a game misconduct penalty.

http://nhl.com/hockeyu/rulebook/rule56.html

Subsection (d). Note that it mentions that the referee is permitted a great deal of leeway in enforcing this rule.

The rule notwithstanding, I also can't figure out how the Rangers ended up with a power play after that altercation. The minor penalty to Fedoruk was a joke (e.g., why didn't Nedved receive one also?).

stanley is offline