View Single Post
Old
02-20-2004, 02:48 PM
  #2
Hossa
Registered User
 
Hossa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Abroad
Posts: 9,239
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calorissi
I was looking to see how many games Rob Ray will play for the B Sens when I noticed this:

Sat. Feb. 21 Providence 7:05:00 PM
Sun. Feb. 22 Springfield 4:05:00 PM
Mon. Feb. 23 Manchester 7:05:00 PM
Wed. Feb. 25 Wilkes-Barre 7:05:00 PM
Fri. Feb. 27 Norfolk 7:30:00 PM
Sat. Feb. 28 Norfolk 7:30:00 PM
Sun. Feb. 29 Hershey 5:00:00 PM

How can a team be expected to play 3 games in three nights, and do it again the next weekend, oh ya, lets throw another mid week game in there.
7 games in 9 days. That is insane!

They do another 3 in 3 session to close the season as well:
Fri. Apr. 2 Norfolk 7:30:00 PM
Sat. Apr. 3 Norfolk 7:30:00 PM
Sun. Apr. 4 Philadelphia 5:05:00 PM


How are players supposed to stay healthy for the playoffs?
How is that fair to the fans, there must be a pile of terrible games?

To anyone who knows more about the AHL, is this standard practice?
It's similar to major junior hockey, where teams will load up on weekend games, often playing three in three nights, to free up the week days. The idea is that junior player need the week to do school work, so mid week games are limited big time. Some minor league players need to work second jobs, not everybody has a big NHL contract even if it's a two-way deal.

I don't know how common it is, but that's why you see games loaded up on the weekends.

Hossa is offline