HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > National Hockey League Talk
National Hockey League Talk Discuss NHL players, teams, games, and the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Is there a loophole against pulling the goalie in OT?

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
03-31-2004, 04:07 PM
  #1
edmontonoilers89
Registered User
 
edmontonoilers89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Edmonton
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,250
vCash: 500
Is there a loophole against pulling the goalie in OT?

I was browsing another forum, and they were talking about the pulling the goalie in OT rule.

If say a team pulled their goalie in OT because they needed the two points, and the opposing team got possession of the puck and shot it down the ice, what would happen if the goalie quickly jumped off the bench and slid to stop the puck?

I know this seems incredibly unlikely, but would this be a way of preventing the goal, and only causing a "too many men" call, because the 6th forward would still be on the ice?

edmontonoilers89 is offline  
Old
03-31-2004, 04:17 PM
  #2
Irish Blues
____________________
 
Irish Blues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Country: St Helena
Posts: 21,804
vCash: 91
1. If you pull the goalie in OT and the other team scores into the empty net, you lose the point that you otherwise would have had.

2. If the goalie jumps off the bench in such a situation, the referee could award the goal on the supposition that, had the goalie (or any other player) not come off the bench, the goal would have been scored.

__________________
No promises this time.
Irish Blues is offline  
Old
03-31-2004, 04:18 PM
  #3
colonel_korn
Luuuuuuuuuu....lay?
 
colonel_korn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St John's, NL
Country: Canada
Posts: 7,362
vCash: 500
Just a guess, but I think that breaking a rule to prevent an empty net goal results in an automatic goal, not a penalty. I know for a fact that throwing your stick to knock the puck away results in an automatic goal, and I imagine this extends to other infractions as well.

Just guessing though.

colonel_korn is offline  
Old
03-31-2004, 04:20 PM
  #4
Blackjack
Registered User
 
Blackjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: keyjhboardd +bro]ke
Posts: 6,034
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irish Blues
2. If the goalie jumps off the bench in such a situation, the referee could award the goal on the supposition that, had the goalie (or any other player) not come off the bench, the goal would have been scored.
Yes, the same holds true if one of their forwards has a shot at an empty net and you haul him down. I think that call was made either this year or last year. If you break a rule to prevent the other team from scoring an empty netter the ref will just award the goal.

Blackjack is offline  
Old
03-31-2004, 04:22 PM
  #5
edmontonoilers89
Registered User
 
edmontonoilers89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Edmonton
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,250
vCash: 500
Ok thanks for your responses guys.

edmontonoilers89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.