HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

ot-xbox360 problems

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
01-30-2009, 02:32 PM
  #1
nedbraden10
Registered User
 
nedbraden10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 648
vCash: 500
ot-xbox360 problems

anyone have a xbox360 that has had problems with it. mine broke as of tuesday got a blinking bottom red light and error 72 messsage.called xbox and they told me 100$ to fix it and will take 3 weeks. this is my second 360 first one went to xbox heaven and they sent me a new one and now this one is broke. if anyone has any ideas that would be great.to top it all off i just got nhl09.


Last edited by nedbraden10: 01-30-2009 at 02:50 PM.
nedbraden10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 02:43 PM
  #2
robert terwilliger
the bart, the
 
robert terwilliger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: sw florida
Country: United States
Posts: 18,408
vCash: 500
you should have some sort of warranty if you just got one from them.

robert terwilliger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 02:44 PM
  #3
Oil Cam Boyd
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Country: Canada
Posts: 9
vCash: 500
http://hfboards.com/newreply.php?do=postreply&t=601183

Sending it in is pretty much your only option, unfortunately. You're almost better off buying a new one, as they're MUCH more reliable now.

Oil Cam Boyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 02:44 PM
  #4
dafoomie
Eat Mor Chikin
 
dafoomie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Boston
Country: United States
Posts: 14,123
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to dafoomie
How long ago did you receive this new one?

E72 is related to the flash chip where the dashboard is stored. What is the secondary error code?


Last edited by dafoomie: 01-30-2009 at 02:49 PM.
dafoomie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 02:47 PM
  #5
bruinforstanley
Registered User
 
bruinforstanley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central MA
Country: United States
Posts: 2,056
vCash: 500
Don't spend $100 on fixing it. If this is the 2nd problem, that should be a hint. GET RID OF THE Xbox!

Pony up for a PS3. It's so much better than the Xbox and you get much more bang for your buck!

bruinforstanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 02:57 PM
  #6
dafoomie
Eat Mor Chikin
 
dafoomie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Boston
Country: United States
Posts: 14,123
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to dafoomie
First, try this. With the system off, hold down the sync button on the front and turn it on, keep holding sync until it boots or gives an error.

If that doesn't help, you'll need the secondary error code. While the system is showing the error, hold sync. Press eject, and the ring of light will flash the first digit of the code. Do that 3 more times for the 4 digit error code.

dafoomie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 03:05 PM
  #7
nedbraden10
Registered User
 
nedbraden10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 648
vCash: 500
i got it last jan. my first one died in mid dec and i sent it back to them to fix it 4 rings of death. they told me that it was unfixable and they were going to send me a new one.the warrenty endend jan 15 wich i had no idea thought it was feb. to bruinsforstanly that said go get a ps3 ill never get one.1- has no games that i like that are ony for ps3. games like madden,nhl09 and cod4 are multi system games so i dont need a ps3 to play them. until ps3 gets a game better then halo 3 or gears of war 2 then i might switch and so far the ps3 only games have sucked.2xbox live is the best! i love it.well thanks for all your help folks.i might just go get a new one this weekend or go to gamestop and buy a used one. thanks again

nedbraden10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 03:06 PM
  #8
whatsbruin
Registered User
 
whatsbruin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Central, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 4,135
vCash: 200
Same thing happened to me.
Spent the 100 and sent it in.
Been running fine for about 4 months now.

whatsbruin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 03:07 PM
  #9
dead_golem
Registered User
 
dead_golem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Salem, MA
Posts: 1,127
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to dead_golem
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruinforstanley View Post
Don't spend $100 on fixing it. If this is the 2nd problem, that should be a hint. GET RID OF THE Xbox!

Pony up for a PS3. It's so much better than the Xbox and you get much more bang for your buck!
HA!

Advice post of the year!

dead_golem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 03:08 PM
  #10
dead_golem
Registered User
 
dead_golem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Salem, MA
Posts: 1,127
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to dead_golem
Quote:
Originally Posted by nedbraden10 View Post
i got it last jan. my first one died in mid dec and i sent it back to them to fix it 4 rings of death. they told me that it was unfixable and they were going to send me a new one.the warrenty endend jan 15 wich i had no idea thought it was feb. to bruinsforstanly that said go get a ps3 ill never get one.1- has no games that i like that are ony for ps3. games like madden,nhl09 and cod4 are multi system games so i dont need a ps3 to play them. until ps3 gets a game better then halo 3 or gears of war 2 then i might switch and so far the ps3 only games have sucked.2xbox live is the best! i love it.well thanks for all your help folks.i might just go get a new one this weekend or go to gamestop and buy a used one. thanks again
http://www.engadget.com/2007/07/05/x...o-three-years/

I'd give MS hell. Those f**kers were supposed to have loaded the warranty back up for everyone.

dead_golem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 03:10 PM
  #11
nedbraden10
Registered User
 
nedbraden10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 648
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruinforstanley View Post
Don't spend $100 on fixing it. If this is the 2nd problem, that should be a hint. GET RID OF THE Xbox!

Pony up for a PS3. It's so much better than the Xbox and you get much more bang for your buck!
Quote:
Originally Posted by dafoomie View Post
First, try this. With the system off, hold down the sync button on the front and turn it on, keep holding sync until it boots or gives an error.

If that doesn't help, you'll need the secondary error code. While the system is showing the error, hold sync. Press eject, and the ring of light will flash the first digit of the code. Do that 3 more times for the 4 digit error code.
i did that when i press eject i get one red light then 2 then 3 then 4 then all red what do i do next

nedbraden10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 03:13 PM
  #12
Cronuss
Registered User
 
Cronuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 6,419
vCash: 2823
I can help guide you to fix it, but it's not easy.

It will take some time, and you will have to take the system completely apart.

The problem usually comes from the fact that x-clamp heatsink isnt tightened on enough. The CPU gets very hot to the point that the solder joints for the CPU actually melt and resolidify detached. You need to take it apart and buy new bolts for the heatsink, then put it in place in a tigher way and run the system VERY hot so that the solder joints re-melt and re-solidify in the proper position.

It works.

Trust me, I have about XBOX 360 retail and development kits around me all day at work.

Cronuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 03:16 PM
  #13
nedbraden10
Registered User
 
nedbraden10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 648
vCash: 500
can you do it for me i'll take you to a bruins games balcony let me know?

nedbraden10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 03:17 PM
  #14
stick9
Registered User
 
stick9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Country: United States
Posts: 9,941
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by nedbraden10 View Post
i got it last jan. my first one died in mid dec and i sent it back to them to fix it 4 rings of death. they told me that it was unfixable and they were going to send me a new one.the warrenty endend jan 15 wich i had no idea thought it was feb. to bruinsforstanly that said go get a ps3 ill never get one.1- has no games that i like that are ony for ps3. games like madden,nhl09 and cod4 are multi system games so i dont need a ps3 to play them. until ps3 gets a game better then halo 3 or gears of war 2 then i might switch and so far the ps3 only games have sucked.2xbox live is the best! i love it.well thanks for all your help folks.i might just go get a new one this weekend or go to gamestop and buy a used one. thanks again
Sounds like they replaced it with a piece that was built before they updated the chip set. I bought mine last January and made sure I was getting the new chip set. I've never once had a single problem with it.

stick9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 03:23 PM
  #15
nedbraden10
Registered User
 
nedbraden10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 648
vCash: 500
it's driving me crazy. last night i was going to play ray lewis online in madden oh well

nedbraden10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 03:27 PM
  #16
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,826
vCash: 500
i'd just buy an xbox arcade unit and make sure that it's the newer Jasper model (supposed to be the most reliable version of xbox that came out a few months ago).

Zodiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 03:28 PM
  #17
nedbraden10
Registered User
 
nedbraden10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 648
vCash: 500
thanks again for all the help.im thinking of writting a letter to them and giving them a piece of my mind!

nedbraden10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 03:35 PM
  #18
Cronuss
Registered User
 
Cronuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 6,419
vCash: 2823
Quote:
Originally Posted by nedbraden10 View Post
can you do it for me i'll take you to a bruins games balcony let me know?
hm. i'll think about it.

Cronuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 03:46 PM
  #19
stick9
Registered User
 
stick9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Country: United States
Posts: 9,941
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by FloydianSlip View Post
i'd just buy an xbox arcade unit and make sure that it's the newer Jasper model (supposed to be the most reliable version of xbox that came out a few months ago).
That's the version I have. In fact, all the arcade versions are the newer design.

stick9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-30-2009, 05:39 PM
  #20
Redden Hogalot*
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Guelph
Country: Christmas Island
Posts: 5,725
vCash: 500
If I had it back I would've got the Arcade, although I did get my 360 for free.

Redden Hogalot* is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.