HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Metropolitan Division > Philadelphia Flyers
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

Website Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
02-20-2009, 12:37 PM
  #1
JSTAFF
Registered User
 
JSTAFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Country: Italy
Posts: 4,386
vCash: 500
Website Design

To all computer savvy people:


I decided to take on a task at work that I thought I was capable of but aparently I have no idea what im doing. I know how to do intermediate level html code but I seem to be a little mixed up if anyone could help. I'm updating my companies website now on a daily basis and the company that makes the website gave me FTP full access. My problem is......I cant edit the files in the FTP. All of the files are labeled .asp, which I guess im not familiar with? Anyone have any idea what im talking about / how I can edit these files to update the page?

JSTAFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 12:40 PM
  #2
ToTheNet
Registered User
 
ToTheNet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Holland, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 3,281
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to ToTheNet
Quote:
Originally Posted by stafuccijr View Post
To all computer savvy people:


I decided to take on a task at work that I thought I was capable of but aparently I have no idea what im doing. I know how to do intermediate level html code but I seem to be a little mixed up if anyone could help. I'm updating my companies website now on a daily basis and the company that makes the website gave me FTP full access. My problem is......I cant edit the files in the FTP. All of the files are labeled .asp, which I guess im not familiar with? Anyone have any idea what im talking about / how I can edit these files to update the page?
take the files off the ftp and open them with notepad. very simplistic and outdated, but should work.

ToTheNet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 12:44 PM
  #3
JSTAFF
Registered User
 
JSTAFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Country: Italy
Posts: 4,386
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToTheNet View Post
take the files off the ftp and open them with notepad. very simplistic and outdated, but should work.
Is there a "dated" way to do it? And how do i upload it to the servers after the changes are made? It says its using VBscript, a script im not familiar with.

JSTAFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 12:44 PM
  #4
chaosof99*
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Austria
Country: Austria
Posts: 16,614
vCash: 500
.asp stands Active Server Page. ASP is a script language which requests data from the server and builds new pages representing and/or defined by that data. You need .net programming skills, usually in the C++ or C# programming language, to really edit them as they are usually either HTML code with embedded scripts or such programs generating HTML code.

Personally I'm more a fan of the rival Java based JSP technology.

chaosof99* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 12:46 PM
  #5
BringBackStevens
Registered User
 
BringBackStevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Country: United States
Posts: 12,037
vCash: 500
asp = active server pages.

ASP uses html to write data to the page, but the web server itself executes the asp scripts in the asp files. You can open them locally on your desktop by using notepad.

I don't want to confuse you more, but you might open the files and not find the data you want to enter. Typically professional websites coded in asp pull their data from some other backend, such as a database

BringBackStevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 12:47 PM
  #6
chaosof99*
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Austria
Country: Austria
Posts: 16,614
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by stafuccijr View Post
Is there a "dated" way to do it? And how do i upload it to the servers after the changes are made? It says its using VBscript, a script im not familiar with.
Not sure if the server has the capabilities but alternatively you could set up a SVN server yourself which is basically a Wiki for programming files where all previous versions are stored and can be rolled back to if necessary.

chaosof99* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 01:14 PM
  #7
JSTAFF
Registered User
 
JSTAFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Country: Italy
Posts: 4,386
vCash: 500
It wont let me open them in notepad...it just automatically goes to a new tab on my IE where editing is not allowed.

JSTAFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 01:21 PM
  #8
chaosof99*
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Austria
Country: Austria
Posts: 16,614
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by stafuccijr View Post
It wont let me open them in notepad...it just automatically goes to a new tab on my IE where editing is not allowed.
I'm assuming you use Windows, did you right-click the file, go to "Open With" and selected Notepad (or probably better: Wordpad)?

chaosof99* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 01:31 PM
  #9
BringBackStevens
Registered User
 
BringBackStevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Country: United States
Posts: 12,037
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by stafuccijr
It wont let me open them in notepad...it just automatically goes to a new tab on my IE where editing is not allowed.
I think you might be in over your head. At the very least make sure you backup copies of the original files

BringBackStevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 01:32 PM
  #10
Hubey1327
Registered User
 
Hubey1327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Penn State
Posts: 1,319
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaosof99 View Post
I'm assuming you use Windows, did you right-click the file, go to "Open With" and selected Notepad (or probably better: Wordpad)?
yeah do this and you should get all the asp code. if you do view>>page source you wont get any of the asp source code which is why you cant edit it. you know html but depending on how its set up you might need to know a scripting language like JavaScript or VBscript

Hubey1327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 01:43 PM
  #11
JSTAFF
Registered User
 
JSTAFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Country: Italy
Posts: 4,386
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaosof99 View Post
I'm assuming you use Windows, did you right-click the file, go to "Open With" and selected Notepad (or probably better: Wordpad)?
Lol I know this makes me sound like I dont know what i'm talking about. That is not an option. It only lets me goto Open. Open with is faded out.

JSTAFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 01:45 PM
  #12
JSTAFF
Registered User
 
JSTAFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Country: Italy
Posts: 4,386
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubey1327 View Post
yeah do this and you should get all the asp code. if you do view>>page source you wont get any of the asp source code which is why you cant edit it. you know html but depending on how its set up you might need to know a scripting language like JavaScript or VBscript
The code is in VBscript but it is fairly simple code. I'm only adding a few locations and some names, its really basic stuff. Is it possible that the network admin did not give me full access even though he claims to have?

JSTAFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 01:47 PM
  #13
BringBackStevens
Registered User
 
BringBackStevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Country: United States
Posts: 12,037
vCash: 500
Did you copy the files from FTP directly to your hard disk first. Sounds like you are trying to just open it from the FTP server. Copy it to your hard disk, then you should be able to open it

BringBackStevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 01:49 PM
  #14
Hubey1327
Registered User
 
Hubey1327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Penn State
Posts: 1,319
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by stafuccijr View Post
The code is in VBscript but it is fairly simple code. I'm only adding a few locations and some names, its really basic stuff. Is it possible that the network admin did not give me full access even though he claims to have?
yeah thats possible im not sure how the system is setup but maybe your computer doesnt have IIS and .net framework? I mean i think every computer basically comes with it but i would check with your network admin

Hubey1327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 01:49 PM
  #15
JSTAFF
Registered User
 
JSTAFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Country: Italy
Posts: 4,386
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Inebriator View Post
Did you copy the files from FTP directly to your hard disk first. Sounds like you are trying to just open it from the FTP server. Copy it to your hard disk, then you should be able to open it
now that seems like a very good solution. No, i did not, good call. Maybe i am in over my head.

JSTAFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 01:49 PM
  #16
Pwood
B-B-B-Bus can't swim
 
Pwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kentucky
Country: United States
Posts: 1,879
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to Pwood Send a message via Yahoo to Pwood
How the hell do you guys know how to do this?!? LOL.

Pwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 01:50 PM
  #17
Hubey1327
Registered User
 
Hubey1327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Penn State
Posts: 1,319
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Inebriator View Post
Did you copy the files from FTP directly to your hard disk first. Sounds like you are trying to just open it from the FTP server. Copy it to your hard disk, then you should be able to open it
or that. completely overlooked that.

Hubey1327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 01:54 PM
  #18
Hubey1327
Registered User
 
Hubey1327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Penn State
Posts: 1,319
vCash: 500
yeah your in over your head hahah if that was your issue. let us know if that solves it. and i love how you come to the hf boards for computer help lol

Hubey1327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 02:00 PM
  #19
JSTAFF
Registered User
 
JSTAFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Country: Italy
Posts: 4,386
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubey1327 View Post
yeah your in over your head hahah if that was your issue. let us know if that solves it. and i love how you come to the hf boards for computer help lol
ah well its too late now. I have to rise above it and be the man. I completely set you up for a short joke there too and you missed it. Thanks for everyones help and ill keep you update on my suckness

JSTAFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 02:11 PM
  #20
chaosof99*
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Austria
Country: Austria
Posts: 16,614
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pwood View Post
How the hell do you guys know how to do this?!? LOL.
For me personally:
In Austria the school system is set up that you only have 8 years of mandatory school. After that you can choose to go to a company which can take you in and you learn a job, or you can go to an advancing school for another 3 to 5 years, similar to the high schools in america. The difference is that there are different schools depending on what you think you want to do as a profession later on.

I went to a HTL, which is like high school except focused on tech. I was in the Informatics schedule where they teach you about programming, telecommunications, networking etc. Even workshops wiring home electrics, soldering or even Turning.

I'm also currently a University student in Informatics and last spring through summer I was in a practical apprenticeship (which is mandatory) where I was working on a similar project as the OP is currently involved in.

chaosof99* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 02:49 PM
  #21
Pwood
B-B-B-Bus can't swim
 
Pwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kentucky
Country: United States
Posts: 1,879
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to Pwood Send a message via Yahoo to Pwood
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaosof99 View Post
For me personally:
In Austria the school system is set up that you only have 8 years of mandatory school. After that you can choose to go to a company which can take you in and you learn a job, or you can go to an advancing school for another 3 to 5 years, similar to the high schools in america. The difference is that there are different schools depending on what you think you want to do as a profession later on.

I went to a HTL, which is like high school except focused on tech. I was in the Informatics schedule where they teach you about programming, telecommunications, networking etc. Even workshops wiring home electrics, soldering or even Turning.

I'm also currently a University student in Informatics and last spring through summer I was in a practical apprenticeship (which is mandatory) where I was working on a similar project as the OP is currently involved in.
Yeah, we had a separate building just for our tech areas in high school, kind of like what you're talking about.

I just thought you guys had a lot of free time or something haha. JK!

Pwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-20-2009, 09:56 PM
  #22
JXC
#LaviPondHockeyFail
 
JXC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Country: United States
Posts: 13,889
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by stafuccijr View Post
ah well its too late now. I have to rise above it and be the man.
Goddamned right! I admire a man who will whip out his pecker, slap it on the tabletop, look around the room and ask: "Whaddya think about that?"

ASP is cool, about 5-10 years in the past, but cool. You'll love it if you get into it.

You should tell us what you need to do. Changing a bit of content from time to time, like names and dates and phone numbers and blurbs and stuff is one thing... If you think you'll be managing code that hits database -- well that's like stepping up from shinnies at the Skatium to Quebec Major Junior.

BY ALL MEANS as was said earlier - make backups, now and always. Always always always always always always always always always always always always.

JXC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-24-2009, 09:33 AM
  #23
JSTAFF
Registered User
 
JSTAFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Country: Italy
Posts: 4,386
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by JXC View Post
Goddamned right! I admire a man who will whip out his pecker, slap it on the tabletop, look around the room and ask: "Whaddya think about that?"

ASP is cool, about 5-10 years in the past, but cool. You'll love it if you get into it.

You should tell us what you need to do. Changing a bit of content from time to time, like names and dates and phone numbers and blurbs and stuff is one thing... If you think you'll be managing code that hits database -- well that's like stepping up from shinnies at the Skatium to Quebec Major Junior.

BY ALL MEANS as was said earlier - make backups, now and always. Always always always always always always always always always always always always.

my bad I missed your post. I need to update a client list, which is just adding text. Then I need to update the "contact us" page with pictures of employees and their title. (i.e. President/Director of Estimating) That is the most crucial updates, but later they want me to add more pictures of our work. I haven't even tried to do it yet, previous posters made me nervous haha.

JSTAFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.