HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The Rink
The Rink For the not so ready for prime-time players, coaches, referees, and the people that have to live with them. Discuss experiences in local leagues, coaching tips, equipment, and training.

Rule Interpretation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
11-17-2009, 10:06 PM
  #1
Canadiens1958
Registered User
 
Canadiens1958's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10,752
vCash: 500
Rule Interpretation

Involved with hockey at various levels for over fifty years. First time that I see this happen.

Tournament,Pee Wee B game - weak skaters, little hockey experience,two inexperienced refs, even strength, 5 skaters and goalie per team. Defensive team bench from blue line to face-off circle, undersized rink.Hockey Quebec rules.

Scramble in front of net, defending goalie loses his stick. Defending forward gives goalie his stick then skates off, replaced by another forward with stick.Play starts leaving zone, defenseman slides goalie stick to goalie, takes forwards stick from goalie and starts skating to bench with two sticks. Play reverses again and defenseman is caught facing the two on two holding two sticks. Kid just stands there, rush is unsuccessful, save,whistle, refs look at each other, shrug shoulders. No call.

Suspect a two minute illegal equipment call may have been appropriate. View supported by various administrators but we have not found a case specific rule or situation. Appreciate that the extra stick should have been tossed aside and picked-up at the next stoppage. No impact on outcome.

Canadiens1958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-17-2009, 10:12 PM
  #2
CanadaBacon
 
CanadaBacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,570
vCash: 500
You can not directly enter play with two sticks.

But it is Peewee so......

CanadaBacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-17-2009, 10:17 PM
  #3
Saved*
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,830
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaBacon View Post
You can not directly enter play with two sticks.

But it is Peewee so......
You can. You cannot play the puck while wielding two sticks.

Saved* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-17-2009, 10:20 PM
  #4
CanadaBacon
 
CanadaBacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,570
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rented Mule View Post
You can. You cannot play the puck while wielding two sticks.
That is the misconception, you are right you cannot play the puck but you cant directly enter play at all ie go for the puck

CanadaBacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-17-2009, 10:23 PM
  #5
Canadiens1958
Registered User
 
Canadiens1958's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10,752
vCash: 500
Clarification

The defenseman with the two sticks did not make any effort to play the puck or any attacking player BUT they had to avoid him.

Canadiens1958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-17-2009, 10:42 PM
  #6
CanadaBacon
 
CanadaBacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,570
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadiens1958 View Post
The defenseman with the two sticks did not make any effort to play the puck or any attacking player BUT they had to avoid him.
thats where it gets murky, got no answer for ya.

Mind ya, in Peewee they dont call everything anyway.

CanadaBacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-17-2009, 11:30 PM
  #7
FLYLine24*
 
FLYLine24*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NY
Country: United States
Posts: 29,102
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadiens1958 View Post
The defenseman with the two sticks did not make any effort to play the puck or any attacking player BUT they had to avoid him.
So he was involved in the play...if he wanted to or not(he should have dropped a stick). Should have been a penalty..but like others said..its PeeWee..so meh

FLYLine24* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-18-2009, 10:39 AM
  #8
DJnet65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 101
vCash: 500
This is incident happened while playing with Quebec rules so it may be different.

This is the rule book for USA hockey

http://www.usahockey.com/uploadedFil...200911_WEB.pdf

Rule 301 (e)

the interpretation is whether ot not the player with 2 sticks participated in the play.

DJnet65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-18-2009, 10:46 AM
  #9
NYRSinceBirth
Registered User
 
NYRSinceBirth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Country: United States
Posts: 2,843
vCash: 500
It's pee wee, the kid was probably just making sure his buddy had his stick back. May have been his only one. Let it go with a warning or even a heads up that playing the puck/joining the play with 2 sticks could be a penalty and leave it be.

NYRSinceBirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-18-2009, 12:18 PM
  #10
frito
Registered User
 
frito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cincinnati
Country: United States
Posts: 1,067
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJnet65 View Post
This is incident happened while playing with Quebec rules so it may be different.

This is the rule book for USA hockey

http://www.usahockey.com/uploadedFil...200911_WEB.pdf

Rule 301 (e)

the interpretation is whether ot not the player with 2 sticks participated in the play.
So you don't have to look it up, here is the quote
Quote:
A minor penalty for an equipment violation shall be assessed to a player or goalkeeper who participates in the play while he is in possession of more than one stick, except that no penalty shall be assessed to a player who is accidentally struck by the puck while he is carrying a replacement stick to a teammate.
Mind you, this is USA Hockey vs. Canada, but if the Canadian rule is the same, the officials made the correct "non-call" as it's not a penalty.

frito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-18-2009, 05:47 PM
  #11
Gino 14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Country: United States
Posts: 812
vCash: 500
By USAH rules, the player did not participate in the play, no penalty. The fact that they had to avoid him does not factor into it. Looks like the inexperienced refs weren't so inexperienced, they made the right call.

Gino 14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-18-2009, 05:58 PM
  #12
CanadaBacon
 
CanadaBacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,570
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gino 14 View Post
By USAH rules, the player did not participate in the play, no penalty. The fact that they had to avoid him does not factor into it. Looks like the inexperienced refs weren't so inexperienced, they made the right call.
^^ He is the greatest ref ever, just ask him ^^


EVER!

CanadaBacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-19-2009, 07:51 AM
  #13
Gino 14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Country: United States
Posts: 812
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaBacon View Post
^^ He is the greatest ref ever, just ask him ^^


EVER!
This coming from a guy who has no idea what the rules really are.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaBacon View Post
You can not directly enter play with two sticks.

But it is Peewee so......

Oops, there goes your shot at ref of the year..........

Gino 14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-19-2009, 12:51 PM
  #14
CanadaBacon
 
CanadaBacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,570
vCash: 500
I always love your monthly troll visit. Always a good time

Now off you go and ref some NHL10 pro star

See ya next month.

CanadaBacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-19-2009, 03:15 PM
  #15
Gino 14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Country: United States
Posts: 812
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaBacon View Post
I always love your monthly troll visit. Always a good time

Now off you go and ref some NHL10 pro star

See ya next month.
Which is worse for you, being wrong or just being you?

Gino 14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
11-19-2009, 03:24 PM
  #16
CanadaBacon
 
CanadaBacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,570
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gino 14 View Post
Which is worse for you, being wrong or just being you?
hmm, i think the worst for me would be to have to be you

Hows the NHL10 reffing coming along there? Learning the rules of hockey yet?

CanadaBacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.