HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

PS2 problem...yes, that one.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
02-27-2005, 02:16 AM
  #1
clefty
Ice cream for crow
 
clefty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Country: Fujairah
Posts: 17,018
vCash: 500
PS2 problem...yes, that one.

I know there have been a lot of threads in the past started commenting on this exact same problem, but I never looked into them, so I'm sorry for posting this again.

The problem has finally arisen for me where my console has problems reading disks. Worse, it that is scratched the crap out of two of my games and doesn't read them AT ALL, including my 2 week old Madden 2005.

Is there any way I can fix/clean the reader inside the console, or is it now nothing more than an oversized paperweight?

Thanks, and sorry for posting this problem again.

clefty is offline  
Old
02-27-2005, 02:55 AM
  #2
V for Voodoo
Registered User
 
V for Voodoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boom Shaka-Laka.
Country: Nepal
Posts: 5,004
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to V for Voodoo Send a message via MSN to V for Voodoo
I had no success fixing that problem. I found a guide online to help me fix it -- it involves tweaking some white contraption next to the lense -- and tried it to no avail. I ended up junking it and buying another. Lucky for you, I have heard a few success stories doing the very same thing. You should find what you need on google.

V for Voodoo is offline  
Old
02-27-2005, 03:59 AM
  #3
clefty
Ice cream for crow
 
clefty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Country: Fujairah
Posts: 17,018
vCash: 500
Hey, thanks alot.

clefty is offline  
Old
02-27-2005, 05:46 AM
  #4
Smart Alek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Country: Turkmenistan
Posts: 540
vCash: 500
By all means, try whatever you can.

But it's doubtful to work... so should it all fail (unfortunately a likely scenario), you'll have to get a new system. PS2's die rather quickly. They typically begin to fail after about 10 000 hours, though it can happen much quicker.

Smart Alek is offline  
Old
02-27-2005, 12:07 PM
  #5
HABitude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Laprairie, dans la belle Province
Posts: 2,561
vCash: 500
What happen is that the reading of the disc fails. I got my PS2 fixed last year for $80. The guy didn't changed a single part, all he had to do is an adjustment of the disc reader with a tester chart. This repair man is a genious, he can fix everything.

Btw, I got GT4 and it rocks. Never saw graphics so impressive, so realistics on any console (sorry Xbox fans). The cars handle very simulation-like, the learning curve is kindda difficult but I like it cuz it's like real life car, there's a ton of different cars (old ones, new, fast ones, slow ones, small, medium and big, euro, american and japanese), a lot of tracks (looks all great so far).

HABitude is offline  
Old
02-27-2005, 12:53 PM
  #6
(lone)Yashinfan#79
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Country: Russian Federation
Posts: 288
vCash: 500
i have a japanese language PS2 and had a similar problem... had the repair and a modification chip installed that allows me to play english language titles (but not dvds, need a gameshark boot up disk) and was only charged $100 for the repair and upgrade...
it was worth it.

(lone)Yashinfan#79 is offline  
Old
02-27-2005, 01:04 PM
  #7
Evilo
Registered User
 
Evilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France
Country: France
Posts: 32,493
vCash: 500
Buy an xbox, get a modchip, install a 180G HD on it, and get some backup games, backup MP3s and backup movies so that you can enjoy your stuff without scratching your DVDs.

Evilo is offline  
Old
02-27-2005, 04:10 PM
  #8
clefty
Ice cream for crow
 
clefty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Country: Fujairah
Posts: 17,018
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilo
Buy an xbox, get a modchip, install a 180G HD on it, and get some backup games, backup MP3s and backup movies so that you can enjoy your stuff without scratching your DVDs.
I know that X-Box is a better system, and I will get one, but I'd still like to keep playing most of my 15-20 PS2 games.

I've got that guide Voodoo was talking about, and I'll hive that a try. I know my way around things well enough to get a good look. If that fails (I've conceded that it likely will), I'll look into finding someone to repair it.

Where did you guys take it to be repaired?

clefty is offline  
Old
02-27-2005, 04:13 PM
  #9
Evilo
Registered User
 
Evilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France
Country: France
Posts: 32,493
vCash: 500
Yea, I was only kidding.

Evilo is offline  
Old
02-27-2005, 04:31 PM
  #10
clefty
Ice cream for crow
 
clefty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Country: Fujairah
Posts: 17,018
vCash: 500
Ahh Olive...you crazy Frenchman, you.

*shakes fist*

clefty is offline  
Old
02-27-2005, 05:05 PM
  #11
Jovavic
Blood Legion
 
Jovavic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: StarCrossedWasteland
Country: Qatar
Posts: 11,440
vCash: 500
Call Sony and *****. If you're lucky, or sound really mad, they'll only charge you shipping.

Jovavic is offline  
Old
02-27-2005, 06:03 PM
  #12
PredsFan77*
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Undisclosed
Country: Maldives
Posts: 6,498
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to PredsFan77* Send a message via AIM to PredsFan77*
If you have the old PS2 style, you can get a Maxtor/Seagate HD put it in the back and using something like HD Loader/HD Advance to 'backup' your games and not mess with the craptastic CD Laser. I'm on the second PS2, after I burnt out my laser with the modchip and ****** DVDs. I'm looking to soft mod my Xbox when I get the chance, seems like an easy job.

PredsFan77* is offline  
Old
02-27-2005, 06:56 PM
  #13
Murphy*
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SilverCupVille
Country: Vatican City State
Posts: 5,889
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by PredsFan77
If you have the old PS2 style, you can get a Maxtor/Seagate HD put it in the back and using something like HD Loader/HD Advance to 'backup' your games and not mess with the craptastic CD Laser. I'm on the second PS2, after I burnt out my laser with the modchip and ****** DVDs. I'm looking to soft mod my Xbox when I get the chance, seems like an easy job.
I have the HD Loader system, and it's great, I dont have to pay a dime for PS2 games and it doesnt void any warranty's. Of course, for the amount I play I dont really have to worry about much.

Murphy* is offline  
Old
02-27-2005, 10:17 PM
  #14
clefty
Ice cream for crow
 
clefty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Country: Fujairah
Posts: 17,018
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by PredsFan77
If you have the old PS2 style, you can get a Maxtor/Seagate HD put it in the back and using something like HD Loader/HD Advance to 'backup' your games and not mess with the craptastic CD Laser. I'm on the second PS2, after I burnt out my laser with the modchip and ****** DVDs. I'm looking to soft mod my Xbox when I get the chance, seems like an easy job.
Err..what constitutes 'old'? I got mine in December 2003, about 15 months ago...

Is installing a harddrive into your PS2 difficult? What does it entail?

clefty is offline  
Old
02-28-2005, 03:04 PM
  #15
Murphy*
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SilverCupVille
Country: Vatican City State
Posts: 5,889
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by clefty
Err..what constitutes 'old'? I got mine in December 2003, about 15 months ago...

Is installing a harddrive into your PS2 difficult? What does it entail?
Pretty much just buy a hard drive, a network adaptor, this little thing called Action/Replay and download the HD Loader off the net with a bit more code and have a PS1 disc and you'll be able to play games off of your HardDrive. I think it's caused by a hole in the code for the backwards compatibality for the PS2.

Murphy* is offline  
Old
03-01-2005, 12:33 AM
  #16
PredsFan77*
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Undisclosed
Country: Maldives
Posts: 6,498
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to PredsFan77* Send a message via AIM to PredsFan77*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murphy
Pretty much just buy a hard drive, a network adaptor, this little thing called Action/Replay and download the HD Loader off the net with a bit more code and have a PS1 disc and you'll be able to play games off of your HardDrive. I think it's caused by a hole in the code for the backwards compatibality for the PS2.
Yeah, or use sharkport or get someone that has it to do it for you.

PredsFan77* is offline  
Old
03-01-2005, 12:34 AM
  #17
PredsFan77*
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Undisclosed
Country: Maldives
Posts: 6,498
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to PredsFan77* Send a message via AIM to PredsFan77*
Quote:
Originally Posted by clefty
Err..what constitutes 'old'? I got mine in December 2003, about 15 months ago...

Is installing a harddrive into your PS2 difficult? What does it entail?
Just as long as it isn't the gay skinny ones you're fine

PredsFan77* is offline  
Old
03-01-2005, 03:25 AM
  #18
Porn*
Registered User
 
Porn*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In your nightmares
Country: Israel
Posts: 36,044
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to Porn*
isn't it possible to just replace the dvdrom in the ps2 or xbox?

I could be wrong... but aren't they set up like mini computers? Moreso the xbox... but yeah, i've been wondering this for a while now...


edit: same goes for the hd

Porn* is offline  
Old
03-01-2005, 06:56 AM
  #19
Jovavic
Blood Legion
 
Jovavic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: StarCrossedWasteland
Country: Qatar
Posts: 11,440
vCash: 500
I don't think the Xbox has a normal DVD drive, I thought I read it spins the disc in the opposite direction.

Jovavic is offline  
Old
03-01-2005, 08:40 AM
  #20
hipcheck85
Where is Triggrman?
 
hipcheck85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashville / Via NYC
Country: United States
Posts: 1,237
vCash: 500
I was able to fix my son's ps2 using the instructions from here

http://www.g4tv.com/xplay/features/4...r_Fix_pg4.html

His wouldn't play blue backed games or DVD's. It all works now.

hipcheck85 is offline  
Old
03-02-2005, 02:03 AM
  #21
PredsFan77*
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Undisclosed
Country: Maldives
Posts: 6,498
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to PredsFan77* Send a message via AIM to PredsFan77*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Porn*
isn't it possible to just replace the dvdrom in the ps2 or xbox?

I could be wrong... but aren't they set up like mini computers? Moreso the xbox... but yeah, i've been wondering this for a while now...


edit: same goes for the hd
Yeah you can replace them, but for the price to do it you can get a brand new one for another $70. Even then, there are no guarantees it will work, and it may not even work for very long.

PredsFan77* is offline  
Old
03-02-2005, 02:55 AM
  #22
clefty
Ice cream for crow
 
clefty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Country: Fujairah
Posts: 17,018
vCash: 500
I opened it up, cleaned the lens with some rubbing alcohol, but no avail. I tried playing a game, and after 15 minutes I heard the same loud clicking noises and had the game locking up. I'll try the hard drive thing I suppose, I was planning on buying a hard drive anyway. My brother-in-law says he thinks he should know how to do it.

clefty is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2016 All Rights Reserved.