HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Audio problems running HDMI from PC to TV

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
05-05-2010, 08:52 PM
  #1
chris_dub
Avoid Catalina...
 
chris_dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vancouver Island
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,975
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to chris_dub
Audio problems running HDMI from PC to TV

Just got my HDMI cable in the mail from monoprice to hook my PC to my TV. The video is coming in just fine, but I'm having audio issues. As in I'm not getting any. My settings are all good on my TV & receiver...so I'm assuming there was something I had to change with audio on the computer.

I searched around & found a few "how-to" articles that didn't really help with anything.

So does anybody know what I should be checking & unchecking in audio options?

chris_dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-05-2010, 09:00 PM
  #2
Led Zappa
Tomorrow Today!
 
Led Zappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Country: Scotland
Posts: 38,283
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dub View Post
Just got my HDMI cable in the mail from monoprice to hook my PC to my TV. The video is coming in just fine, but I'm having audio issues. As in I'm not getting any. My settings are all good on my TV & receiver...so I'm assuming there was something I had to change with audio on the computer.

I searched around & found a few "how-to" articles that didn't really help with anything.

So does anybody know what I should be checking & unchecking in audio options?
What kind of computer is it. If it's a Dell Laptop for example you must change the default audio device to HDMI.

__________________

It disappoints me that you can write a lyric very flippantly—and not a particularly good lyric—and it can mean so much to so many people. That's disillusioning for a writer - George Michael, Careless Whisper
Led Zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-05-2010, 11:19 PM
  #3
TomPlex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,171
vCash: 500
It all depends on if your video card is capable of transmitting your motherboard's audio through to the HDMI cable. I had a similar situation and all I had to do was buy an S/PDIF cable that connected the mobo and the video card. Check your mobo manual to see if you have an S/PDIF output and check if you have an S/PDIF input on your video card. If you do, get the following cable:

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...#ht_1267wt_939

TomPlex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-05-2010, 11:47 PM
  #4
chris_dub
Avoid Catalina...
 
chris_dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vancouver Island
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,975
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to chris_dub
I bought this one about a month ago. Drivers are all updated:

Asus EAH4350 HD

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16814121310

chris_dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2015 All Rights Reserved.